A short movie review: Hansel and Gretel Witch Hunters

When you hear that the title of a movie is “Hansel and Gretel Witch Hunters” and then see that the poster is this:

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/8/88/Hansel_and_Gretel_Witch_Hunters_.jpg

You know exactly what you’re getting in to. One of those great unpretentious movies that does exactly what it says on the tin. Perfect for making a martini (or two) and sitting down to laugh at the ridiculous action. Crazy guns, gratuitous violence, and many eEeEeEvilllll witches mowed down with steampunk automatic machine guns. I give it 4.5 poisoned apples out of 5, and will leave you with a quote from the director–

“I’m still surprised that they went for it, because it’s a crazy, rock n’ roll script. It’s full throttle, there’s lots of blood and gore and bad language, I often wonder how I got this movie made.”

2 Comments

Filed under movies

2 responses to “A short movie review: Hansel and Gretel Witch Hunters

  1. Sold. I needed a new drinking movie.

  2. kx59

    I’ll be putting that one on the “list”. Bad language, gratuitous violence.
    perfect.
    I just watched “The Raid 2” last night. Brutal.