Grog

image

5 Comments

January 30, 2014 · 20:46

5 responses to “Grog

  1. I hope 2014 proves to be a good year for you and yours.

  2. Great minds…

    3 oz. water, 1.5 oz. Pusser’s, juice of about 1/3 of a lime, 1 tsp. Demerera sugar over here. And a fistful of ice in a half-pint canning jar.

    • This was pretty much 50/50 One Barrel (the last bottle from Belize!) and water with a squeeze of lime. My uncle and his girlfriend are leaving Saturday for the annual tropical vacation. Maybe I can get him to bring me back another bottle…

  3. I was drinking grog last night, too. Out of a jelly jar, too… I like the jelly jars, because after adding all the ingredients, you can screw on the lid, and shake ‘em up. Of course, my wife’s friend met a guy while working the docks in Miami. Seems this crusty old dude did some robbing of merchant vessels back in the 40’s. As the story was relayed to me, this guy was drinking Castillo Gold with lime. Therefore, when I make grog, it’s the only rum I use, because apparently it’s what pirates drink.