A Short Movie Review: Pacific Rim

There is a scene that goes something like:
Pilot One: “We’re all out of options!”
Pilot Two: “There’s still one option” [looks at a big red "SWORD BUTTON" in the middle of the console]
[Pilot One presses "SWORD BUTTON"]
[Retractable sword appears out of giant robot's arm]
[Sword used to cut off the wing of giant monster]
[Giant Robot plummets back to earth]
[Giant robot saves itself from crashing and destroying itself by firing GIANT TURBINE BUILT INTO ITS CHEST]
People on ground: [CHEERS]

Let me repeat that: THIS MOVIE HAS A GIANT ROBOT THAT HAS A BIG RED SWORD BUTTON.

This movie has a big red sword button. I wish more things had big red sword buttons. I wish everything had a big red sword button. Since Pacific Rim has a big red sword button, and is currently the only movie I know of that has a big red sword button, it is currently the only movie I know of that is worth watching.

TL:DR Version: GO WATCH MOVIE WITH BIG RED SWORD BUTTON NOW

8 Comments

Filed under A few of My Favorite Things, movies

8 responses to “A Short Movie Review: Pacific Rim

  1. I was on the fence about seeing this one, but you totally just sold it to me.

    • When I saw the newest Star Trek movie, I wasn’t too impressed because all the scientific problems and engineering unrealities detracted from what Star Trek is supposed to be. When I saw Pacific Rim, on the other hand, all the scientific problems and engineering unrealities added up into one big ol’ blob of awesomesauce, because this movie knows exactly what it is–a movie with giant monsters and robots pummeling each other with container ships. No underlying political messages, or hyped up models leaning over motorcycles (Transformers, I’m looking at yooooOOOOoooo).

  2. Volfram

    So if we could get Jack Sparrow(Captain! Captain Jack Sparrow!) into one of the Jeagers?

    By all accounts, Pacific Rim was better than it had any right to be. I will be seeing it…eventually.

  3. kx59

    I’m sold. I’m so seeing this movie
    as soon as it comes out on Pay Per View for 5 bucks.
    I’ve used up my theater priced movie viewing budget in the past two weeks for about
    a decade.