Bloggin’ ’bout bloggin’

According to WordPress today is the day, two years ago, when I started getting the feeling that Blogspot wasn’t the way for me anymore, and so started this one to mess around with. Nearly a year later in the beginning of March 2012 I made it official and came here. The crazy thing is, I felt like the Blogspot one was just starting to take off, getting more and more views, but I just didn’t want to deal with Google’s never ending unsupport of alternatively ignoring Blogger and then adding more and more “features” no one liked, not to mention having all of my stuff under one account never makes me comfortable. Since then I’ve held pretty steady here, but no where near the same number of incoming links as it seems I used to get. Ah well, I guess my brand of free ice cream is a flavor like “Summer Tomato”–an acquired taste for only connoisseurs (how do you like that, right? Nothing like stroking both my and my viewer’s egos!). In the end, I like using WordPress a lot more than Blogger (much easier to post pictures from my phone, and to embed videos, among other things), and that’s really all I care about.

8 Comments

Filed under bloggin', life, Me, trolling the interweb, wasting time

8 responses to “Bloggin’ ’bout bloggin’

  1. Meh. Hell, I rarely comment on other’s blogs… I rarely even respond to comments on mine. Trust me, as a dedicated lurker, I check this site at least 4-5 times a week. Just because you’re not getting comments doesn’t mean people aren’t interested in your musings.

    that said, I know I enjoy getting comments on my posts. Gah! I’m gonna have to start commenting more…

    • Well, looking at the sitemeter ratings side by side, my traffic dropped off by half when I switched, and has since recovered about half of that. Looking at the WordPress stats, I rarely see any incoming links. And don’t get me wrong, I’m not begging for comments–just mentioning what I’ve noticed since I switched.

  2. Volfram

    Nitpicks about English: an ego is like a fire, not a penis. There is no R in “Stoke.”

    I for one enjoy the occasional madness of a fellow Coloradoan, and I hope you don’t mind me adding a bit of my own to the comments on your blog.

  3. Doubletrouble

    I never read the drivel on this site.
    Now, I have to go pat my cat.
    Regards,
    Schrodinger