Musing and Meandering on Jury Duty

Today I have jury duty. I’m looking forward to seeing what there is to see, but I can’t get over the fact that to go and fulfill my civic duty, my basic human rights will be thrown out–that is, no firearms, metal detector search, no pocket knives, for heaven’s sake!  Is it not counter-intuitive that to participate in this high process of civilization, they force us back to the technological level of the apes?  What did I do to earn your mistrust, o court of the land?


…and now I wonder what they’d do if I showed up wearing rose-tinted sunglasses, an unbuttoned shirt (all the way down), and a tie die bandana, and had something like Practical Home Explosives… for Fun AND Profit! as reading material for the wait…

Anyways, we’ll see what happens.

3 Comments

Filed under gun control, life, mumblegrumble

3 responses to “Musing and Meandering on Jury Duty

  1. Bring a book, they'll likely dismiss you for simply being literate.Bring a book on Jury Nullification and they'll likely take your name off the roster list!Lawyers on both sides want people they can manipulate not persuade.

  2. I've got a Jim Butcher book a friend had been bugging me to read. Probably not as effective, but probably more entertaining…

  3. Criminals have rights. You don't.Now if we could treat Congress-critters doing their civic obligation the way we treat citizens doing their civic duty…